Bi-vocational

I had a phone call from one of my consulting customers, and good friend, this week.

“So, we have some corn silage off. There’s a sample in the freezer, but maybe you are too busy for us now that you are a preacher” says the voice on the phone message.

The voice has a smile in it, a big grin even, but behind the banter, I perceive a little bit of concern. I can understand his concern.

picture courtesy SermonCentral.com

picture courtesy SermonCentral.com

We have worked together for many years, built a relationship which has been fruitful for both of us both in business and personal terms and now, there is something new, change. Every time something new is added to the mix of life, dynamics will change, focus will be altered. I share his concern about what things will look like in the world of bi-vocational.

Of course, I need to remind both of us, I have actually been bi-vocational for many years. Early in our relationship, I was strictly a nutritionist, building rations for all sorts of ruminants, but, by 2004 I was also the Sales Manager for the feed company. I carried two sets of business cards. When the company was sold to a larger one, I continued to do some nutrition work while taking on the role of the Ruminant Business Manager with thirteen people reporting to me across the province and some responsibilities across the country. In 2010,  I went back to school full-time and created Threefold Consulting, I still had my feet in two worlds. Today, even though I am taking one course at the seminary, I have essentially traded the full-time student vocation for that of interim pastor.

Certainly, the demands of a full-time student are somewhat different than those of a part-time interim pastor and a time of transition will take place as the new role settles into my life.  I think past experience has shown I can balance a number of roles at the same time, effectively. I need to keep reminding myself of this and the fact that I do not do this alone, in fact, never have.

 

4 thoughts on “Bi-vocational

  1. Oh dear, is that what he said? He did tell me he left a message.If it suits better we can come over with the sample to the church. I’m sure they appreciate it if you will use the church kitchen to do your work with the corn-silage. ha ha ha

    • Like I said, I could hear the smile in his voice.

      I really like coming to pick your samples up, so we can save the church the wonderment of finding a big bag of frozen, unidentifiable, maybe soup making, stuff in the freezer.

      You folks are close by, so nothing really will change. If there is a change it will be for those on the other side of Toronto.

  2. Yes, our commitments are constantly changing and our relationships demand renegotiation. I have especially experienced this when I have left a parish, and had to relate to past church members as someone who is no longer their pastor.

  3. Pingback: Pace and Direction in Life has Changed | The Farmer goes to Seminary

Leave a Reply

