Thanksgiving Weekend

Enjoying the freedom of the dog beach

Enjoying the freedom of the dog beach

I know it is Thursday already, and to post about the weekend past when the weekend future is actually closer seems just a little wrong. The week has been like that so far, with no news of relief for a few more days anyway. After a relaxing weekend I was flung into a week with too much to do and too little time to do it. So, I got up at 5:30 just so that I could reminisce about a weekend past.

It was an unusually wonderful weekend. J and I, along with  her brother and family, camped together at the Pinery Provincial Park.  Thanksgiving can be a cold and dreary holiday. Not so this year with temperatures pushing into the high 20’s. We enjoyed the beach with our dogs, we biked, we read books that were not textbooks (and did some Hebrew), we had a wonderful meal together, we remembered that we have much to be thankful for.

The sun drops below the horizon Thanksgiving Sunday

On Sunday, I went to church in Grand Bend, initially as a requirement for a class assignment. It turned out to be a cool worship experience with a very friendly group of strangers. The church was small, with about 35 in attendance, but, the worship was genuine even though it was different from what I am used to. Friendly though. As soon as I came through the door, I was surrounded by folks wanting to know who I was and welcoming me to their service. Part way through, I noticed that one of those women, now sitting in front of me, had my name and some of the details I had shared written at the top of her bulletin so she could still address me by name at the end.

My stolen time is gone……

So…its onward to Christmas.

Leave a Reply

