Hebrew Grammar is Behind Me

I wrote my Hebrew exam this morning. I’m not going to say it was simple, but, my prof is really interested in my success. The exam was a take home exam.  I was allowed to study it as much as I wanted for the week and then was to write it with no aids. I did just that! The week to concentrate on just this piece of the whole was good.  The exam was 10 Hebrew sentences that I was to translate literally and then put into an understandable English sentence.  Some of them I recognized right away (which was cool) as well-known biblical texts (Genesis 1:1, Psalm 23:1, Ruth 1:16, Jonah 1:17,  and Deuteronomy 6:4) others were more obscure.  Just being able to recognize the Hebrew text  as being one of these passages is much more than I ever could have done four months ago.

I will need to continue to work with this over the next month so that I don’t lose it all.  In September, we will be back at it doing exegesis (critical explanation or interpretation of a text or portion of a text, esp. of the Bible) and from what the prof tells me we will continue to work on grammar and vocabulary.

Feeling some relief. Now we have six weeks that won’t be consumed by Hebrew.

יְהוָה רֹעִי, לא אֶחְסָר

Psalm 23:1

Leave a Reply

