A Weekend of Preaching

Sermon 1: Saturday 10:45  Adjust Your Feeding Program to Fit Your Ewes Changing Needs,

Sermon 2: Saturday 2:15  How to Finish Your Lambs From One Week to Market

My congregation was about 150 sheep farmers from various parts of Western Ontario with diverse backgrounds (Mennonite, Dutch and English immigrants, 3rd and 4th generation Canadians, one person of colour).  They ranged in age from ten to over eighty. They had no problem interrupting my talk looking for clarification, more information, and just to heckle (I brought that on myself, on purpose…I think).  After my sermons, a small group would gather around me to discuss the sermon, to ask for more information, more clarification and to heckle some more.  They stood in line all through lunch to talk to me about what I had said. I left exhausted.

Sermon 3: Sunday 10:00 am (after a two and one half hour drive) Hope, You’ve Got It, Are You Ready To Share It?

My congregation was about sixty people all from a relatively small area around the church.  They were not of a very diverse backgound and ranged in age from three to about eighty.  They did not interrupt my talk with challenging questions or heckling comments.  Following the sermon everyone was very polite and some even enthusiastic about the message they had heard. They all stood in line and shook my hand.  None discussed the content or asked for further clarification.  We all had coffee and went home. Nobody heckled me,  not even once. I left exhausted.

Its obvious that I do a better job preaching on a Sunday than I do on a Saturday. s The need to discuss and get more information about Sunday’s topic is just not there. Clearly, the information has been fully and clearly covered to everyones satisfaction in the text of the sermon.

3 thoughts on “A Weekend of Preaching

  1. I’m not sure that a lack of questions is necessarily an indication of a better result. When I teach I usually count it success if my students understand well enough to know what they’re confused about and how to ask a useful and interesting question.

  2. Pingback: The Good Life | The Farmer goes to Seminary

Leave a Reply

