Of Travelling and Journeys

Many of you know that J and I just returned from a long trip on our bicycles (long for us anyway).  Some of you were even following us as we made our way to Pelee Island and back again.  I’m not going to rehash the trip here.  You can go to the other blog for that,  but the trip has spawned some thoughts about life, direction, and calling.

Pelee Island Lighthouse

Before we left, a friend suggested that it’s the journey that’s important not the destination.  If this trip had been about the destination, we would have been disappointed.  Our destination was Pelee Island.  We were somewhat disappointed with what we found there.  Rather than being the out-of-the-way tourist destination that we had expected we found a remote place with poor services (groceries) and even worse roads.  If we had decided to spend more than one day on the island, it would have been too much.

The trip however was not about Pelee Island.  It was about taking a break from the busyness of life, spending time with my best friend, seeing a part of Ontario that we were not familiar with, and doing it in an inexpensive, environmentally friendly way.  It was about interacting with people, experiencing new things and sharing that experience with others.

The changes in direction in my life are also not about the destination.  Yesterday it happened again.  In our community it seems to be a big thing that these changes are happening.  Within five minutes, while I was getting diesel fuel at the co-op, two different and unrelated folks came to me with: “I hear you’re not in the feed business anymore….So what are you studying?……You plan to be a minister then?  Each time I explain that, no, I might not be a minister then. ….I really don’t know what this is going to be at the end…..It’s about the journey.

I almost feel like I should apologize to all the young people I have counselled to go off to school to learn about the thing they love rather than about a career.  The career thing is much easier for the general public.

But, I won’t…

JOSEPH CAMPBELL wrote: All the time. It is miraculous. I even have a superstition that has grown on me as a result of invisible hands coming all the time – namely, that if you do follow your bliss you put yourself on a kind of track that has been there all the while, waiting for you, and the life that you ought to be living is the one you are living. When you can see that, you begin to meet people who are in your field of bliss, and they open doors to you. I say, follow your bliss and don’t be afraid, and doors will open where you didn’t know they were going to be.

2 thoughts on “Of Travelling and Journeys

  1. Pingback: The Questions « Life And Then Some

  2. You know my outlook on the “doing what you love” thing is kinda bleak right now, and but thinking about it, I don’t think I would give any other advice if I were ever asked. But I think I would add a caveat that you shouldn’t just do what you love, but figure out what you can do with what you love, because when everything is over and you have the piece of paper in your hand, you might just end up working at the Gap with very few ideas about where you want to end up and even less of an ability to explain it. And maybe almost no idea about how to turn everything you’ve learned and everything you’ve studied into something that will keep your fridge fully stocked and the rent paid.

    I would still have done English though. I would probably have failed miserably if I’d done anything traditionally known to be “useful”.

Leave a Reply

