Announcement Plus 5

It’s been 5 days since I sat with my bosses and told them that our paths were going to diverge.  For the next 6 weeks I need to continue on with my job…full time.  By the end of this week a new structure will be announced and my responsibilities will change.  They will look similar to the contract/consulting role I will have later this summer, and that’s fine.  This will give me a good opportunity to ease into this new reality, to see how the new skin fits.

Last Friday, I broke the news to the folks who report to me.  Today I took care of some of my closest dealers and some other employees that I have worked with for a long time.  Everyone seems happy for me and somewhat jealous that they are not going off on their own adventure.  It is causing worry among those who report to me as they try to anticipate life with a new boss.  Some of these guys have worked for me for over 5 years.  Change could be hard for them.

I spent the weekend exhausted.  It was almost as if I had been carrying around this big weight and as long as I had to do it, I could, and it was just part of who I was, but, as soon as I could see the end and I knew that I wouldn’t need to carry it much longer, I realized how tired I really was. (we did manage a shopping trip combined with a visit to the passport office, I built an 8X16 foot stage for the wedding, and we put in a 30km bike ride,  so I was not in bed the whole weekend)

The decision is still the right one. There is lots of support coming from all over, congratulations even.  As I shrug off more and more responsibilities I will be more and more able to explore the possibilities that will be put in front off me and work to align them into that elusive thing…calling.

Hang on for the ride!

Leave a Reply

