Scammer

I hooked a scammer last week, and it was kind of fun!

A little more than a week ago, I advertised one of my bikes on Craigslist.  Last Friday I received this short message from kiloinator@gmail.com:  “Is it still available for sale?” To which I replied “Yes”

The next day I receive this message:

Thanks for your mail  I would like to make an outright
purchase immediately so i would want you withdraw the advert from the web.
Regarding the payment, I will pay you with a certified check in U.S dollars
so pls let me have the following informations so that the payment can
be made to you :
1.Your full name to be on the check.
2.Your physical address.
3.Your postal code
4.Your mobile phone number (For easier communication).
Kindly get me the above requested information as soon as
possible.Concerning the shipment,it is my regular shipper that will
come for the pick up as soon as you recieve your money in hands.

Without to much thought, I send my new friend the requested information.  Sober second thought and a little research had me suspicious so I followed up with an email asking Kilo to call me to confirm details (he had my phone number already).

Shortly after a follow up email arrives:

Hello,
Due to shipping and insurance that a mover company is coming to pick
up from you the cashier`s check you will be receiving will be in the
amount of $3200 the shipers fund will be added to it..So this is what
you are going to do.After you receive the cheque and cash it you will
deduct your own money $600 plus a commission of $100 for keeping the
item for me then you will assist me in forwarding the rest money to my
moving company via Western Union to the mover who will be coming to
pick up the item, and this must be done in good faith.I believe that i
can trust you with the rest money. I will like to read from you back
today so that i can contact my shipping company to get ready for the
pick up.Thanks and moreblessing. Awaiting your response today

I did respond immediately with this email:  “I can’t believe what a good deal this is turning out to be.  You really need to call me so that I can get all the details straight.  You have my number.  There is no deal if you don’t call.  Looking forward to hearing from you!”

So far, Kilo has not called.  I’m a little disappointed.

4 thoughts on “Scammer

  1. Ken, that is too funny! My mom was selling her livingroom furniture a couple months back and had the exact same thing happen. Thankfully, she didn’t fall for it either. Oh and he never called. In the end her furniture ended up at Goodwill. Someone still scored an awesome deal!

    Deborah

  2. Wow, I was trying to sell an instrument on Craig’s list and got the exact same first two emails you got from the exact same address. I got really excited at first as you did, but thought about it a bit and typed the address and a line from the email into a search engine and your posting came up.

    I haven’t decided what to reply to him yet, but I am glad you posted this, it very well may have saved me from a major loss.

  3. Pingback: 419: Will Ferguson | The Farmer goes to Seminary

Leave a Reply

