Amos

I’m just finishing my second assignment for the semester.  Here’s the assignment:

“Throughout the book of Amos, Yahweh’s concern for the poor and the needy is evident; while the abuse/misuse of the economically weak by those who have, economic power is condemned. Illustrate how Amos portrays Yahweh as offended by both exploitation and by conspicuous consumption. How does this translate into the setting of a modern-day consumerist society?”

I went to church today, participated in the service, sang enthusiastically, all the time with these words ringing in the back of my mind:

21 “I hate, I despise your religious feasts;
I cannot stand your assemblies.

22 Even though you bring me burnt offerings and grain offerings,
I will not accept them.
Though you bring choice fellowship offerings,
I will have no regard for them.

23 Away with the noise of your songs!
I will not listen to the music of your harps.

24 But let justice roll on like a river,
righteousness like a never-failing stream! (Amos 5:21-24)

I wonder if God would have those words for us as well?  How do we solve the issues of justice in a world with 6 billion people so that God will accept our worship?

Have we got it wrong?

Leave a Reply

