Change

When you are through changing, you are through.  ~Bruce Barton

Even though I believe the statement above to be true,  I wish that sometimes change would just stop for a while so that I could sit back and just enjoy the scenery right where I am.  Of course, I can’t do that and likely we are our own worst enemies.

If we really didn’t want change, J would not have bought a new business.  Our schedules are going to be different.  New issues are going to come for us to deal with.  It’s going to cause change.

If we really didn’t want change this adventure of going back to school would not be happening either.  My priorities will need to be adjusted.  I may have to stop watching reruns of old TV shows on the internet and actually read some non fiction.  I’m really going to have to work hard to fit my work schedule in to my acedemic one.  At this point, no one at work knows that I will be going off to school on Monday nights.  I don’t think they would understand and I am not sure that there would be any support for this endeavor.  Since my job has me travelling all over the province, I hope that I can shift my job enough to open up every Monday night.  Change will happen.

If we really didn’t want change most of the decisions that J and I have made over the past 30 years would not have been made.  For the most part, the results have been good.  In fact right now I cannot think of a change that has happened in our lives that has not been positive (could be that a failing or somewhat biased memory may have something to do with that}

People move on as well causing that worried feelinjg that comes with any change to the status quo.  Tomorrow I am going to lose a friend and confidant at work.  I am happy for him as he moves on to something that excites him and will likely be a better fit than he has today.  I didn’t think his decision would affect me as much as it did.  I actually lost part of a night’s sleep and I’m not really sure why.  It may have been a bit of jealousy as he moves on to something that he chose rather than the aqueiesence that we both made 14 months ago after our company was purchased by a competitor.  Maybe it was concern about what this would mean for my current role and what new responsibilities (unwanted) were in the future.  Whatever it was, I am going to miss him.  More on this tomorrow.

Change always comes bearing gifts.  ~Price Pritchett

Leave a Reply

