Hadrian’s Wall

The picture in the gavatar of this blog is the middle section of Hadrians Wall.  It was taken in the summer of 2006 when J and I and another couple walked from one end of the wall to the other.  The 85 mile walk was likely the most memorable holiday that we have had, partially because of the feeling of accomplishment we got from walking all the way across England, but also because of the people we met along the way, the conversations we had, and the intimate way that we got to know that part of the country.

July242006

But, why use that image as the header for this blog?  It’s not supposed to be about memorable holidays (although they are part of life and likely worth writing about). I use it because Hadrians Wall can be used in a number of ways as a metaphor for life.  When I think about the task ahead, the challenges that need to be faced, the wall and the holiday are nice symbols.

Hadrians Wall is 117km long built over some very tough terrain.  It was started in AD122 and finished 6 years later.   A lot of it was built squared stone and measured 10 feet wide and 16 to 20 feet high.  They had no heavy equipment like bulldozers and excavators.  Oh, and did I mention the 10′ deep ditch on either side of the wall and the castles that they built every mile.  The task must have appeared impossible at the beginning, but it got done.

I’m sure there will be days when assignments are due and my job is making demands that will cause me to  l ask myself “What an I doing?”.  I’m sure that at times getting it all done, fitting it together, will seem impossible.  I know that at some point I will be tempted to quit.  (Of course that may be the most/only viable option at some point)

I may need to make adjustments, the wall builders did.  After the first number of miles the wall was narrowed to 8 feet and sometimes even less.

The picture on the header hangs in our sunroom.  When the going gets tough, I’ll look at the picture and try to look past the problems at hand and focus on the goal.

This likely won’t be the only post about Hadrian’s Wall.  The experience affected our lives in many ways and also serves as a illustration of the choices that we have made.  Stay posted!!!

Leave a Reply

